Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Steven Konecny
    Spectator

First off, I’m still learning the ins and outs of this software, so thanks in advance for your patience with all the questions lately.

If I were to create a group of CabWriter components, would that cause problems with the software trying to run other routines, like renumbering cabinets or running reports.
    For example, I may want to group similar components together, like a single cabinet and all it’s parts. Or, maybe I want to group custom parts within a single cabinet together. A specific example is copying drawer banks for custom made drawer boxes, since I make my own.

Similarly, If I were to create a new layer(s) and put CabWriter parts (either custom ones or software generated), would that cause issues?
    A good example here would be for parts I know CabWriter would have difficulty with, and I would want these on a separate layer to make importing into VCarve easier. VCarve will import Sketchup vectors based on the Sketchup layers, if you want. In this case, it would actually be helpful if they dropped off the CabWriter export, so I don’t accidentally get duplicate parts on the CNC job. Of course, I suppose I could simply recreate those parts and not make them CabWriter parts.
    Another example is just simple layer management during design. I really comes in handy to be able to hide or show part categories at will.

Thanks,
    Steve

cabwriter
    Keymaster

Hi Steve,

Sorry for the late response on this; I’ll take a stab at it, but Joe might have better insight into this.

I’m almost positive you would cause problems if you grouped components together, and most likely if you switched parts to new layers. Of course, you can always copy parts and put them on different layers, but that could cause problems with the cutlist. Joe is working on some solutions to that problem, however. Joe might have more insight on the layer issues.