Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Brent Norman
    Spectator

I am a novice into the software, how are windows and doors/entrances drawn into walls?

cabwriter
    Keymaster

Hi Brent,

Welcome to CabWriter. CabWriter itself doesn’t have any special tools for doors and windows. You simply use standard SketchUp tools to punch a hole in the wall wherever there’s a door or window. If you want to get fancy, you can get a huge selection of pre-drawn doors and windows on the SketchUp 3D warehouse. Me personally, I just punch holes in the walls most of the time as I am less interested in a realistic looking door and window as I am with the location of them. Once in awhile, if a customer requests it, I’ll actually put a door or window in.

It does point up that you want to become moderately proficient in SketchUp itself before tackling CabWriter which rides on top of SketchUp.

Hope this helps…

Greg

Brent Norman
    Spectator

thanks Greg, I am going through the training models and am sure I’ll get there. I am pretty proficient with other CAD programs such as Vectorworks and AutoCAD but am looking forward to getting proficient with your software.

cabwriter
    Keymaster

Hi Brent,

Funny, those were the two programs I used before starting on SketchUp. It certainly helps to have knowledge of other CAD programs, but as you may have found already, SketchUp is a bit of a different paradigm which stymied me at first until I met my partner Joe and he taught a class at our school that I took. Turns out, once you learn a few basic tricks, it’s a much simpler program to use than the two you’re used to and it has an enormous amount of power.

If you haven’t already run across it, you should definitely run through Joe’s one hour intro to SketchUp here: